Department of Mathematics

About the Department

Basirhat College was established in the year 1947 affiliated with the Calcutta University. In the year 1969 the affiliation of the Science faculty was available from the University of Calcutta & the Education Department, Govt. of West Bengal and from then the Department of Mathematics (for Pass / General Course only) was established.

In the session 2001-2002 the Honours course of the department was introduced in order to cater to the needs of students coming from an area which is educationally, socially and economically backward.

This college is no longer under the affiliation of Calcutta University and has been shifted under the affiliation of WBSU. With the joining of three young full-time faculty members this department has the capacity to provide education which will not only help them in building a strong hold on the nuances of the subject but also prepare them for their future challenges.

Head of the Department   Dr. Pintu Debnath


Sudip Mondal department of mathematics

Dr. Sudip Mondal, Assistant Professor, M.Sc., Ph.D
Sudip Mondal did his from Gobardanga Hindu College in the year of 2008 and M.Sc(2010) and Ph.D from University of Calcutta in the year of 2019. He publised many papers in diffrent international journals. His research work was about Non-calassical theory of thermoelasticity. He jioned in Basirhat college in the year 2015 . Read More..

Pintu Debnath department of mathematics

Dr. Pintu Debnath, Assistant Professor, M.Sc., Ph.D
Pintu Debnath did his B.Sc from University of Kalyani and M.Sc from Jadavpur University in the year 2012. He obtained his Ph.D degree from University of Kalyani in the year 2018. His research interest was about Topological Dynamics. He jioned in Basirhat college in the year 2015 . Read More..

Biswajit Sarkar department of mathematics

Prof. Biswajit Sarkar, Assistant Professor, M.Sc.,
Biswajit Sarkar did his from sree chaitanya College and M.Sc from Calcutta University in 2005. He is pursuing his Ph.D degree from University of Kalyani. His research work is about Fuzzy set theoric Approach in Decision making. He jioned in Basirhat college in the year 2015 . Read More..