BASIRHAT COLLEGE / (+91) 03217-228355


Welcome to Basirhat College

 Online Admission 2021 - 2022            Provisional Routine: 1.Pure Sc (phy+Chem+ Math)  2. Botany  3. Physiology  4. Zoology  5. Geography  6. Computer Sc.  7. Bengali  8. English  9. Education  10. History  11. Philosophy  12. Pol Sc.  13. Physical Education  14. Sanskrit  15. B.A (General)   16. Commerce 

Department of Political Science

About the Department

The department of Political Science is one of the major departments in the Faculty of Arts, Basirhat College which is a premier centre of learning in this subdivision. The department maintains high academic standards of West Bengal State University to which it is affiliated to.

The department strives for providing students the opportunity of knowledge on new subjects in this field. The primary motive of the department is academic excellence as well as preparation of the students for new challenges and demands in the job market. The medium of instruction is Bengali and English. We have a highly trained faculty who are ever-responsive to student's demands.

Head of the Department :  Prof. Rahul Thanadar 



Abhijat Prokash Mookherjee, Associate Professor, M.A.

Prof. Mookherjee joined the department of Political Science on 15.12.1992. Both his degrees (B.A and M.A) are from the University of Calcutta. His areas of interest are Indian Administration and Politics.

Subrata De, Associate Professor, M.A.,

Prof. De joined joined the department of Political Science as an Assistant Professor on 02.12.1994. He received his degrees (B.A, M.A) from the University of Burdwan. His area of interest is International Relations.

Dipankar Sarkar, Assistant Professor, M.A.

Dipankar Sarkar completed his B.A and M.A degree in Political Science from RabindraBharoti University and has19 years of teaching experience in a degree college. He joined Basirhat College in 2019.

Prof. Rahul Thanadar Assistant Professor, M.A., M.Phil.

Prof. Rahul Thanadar Joined the department of Political Science as an Assistant Professor on 04.09.2019. He achieved B.A ( Hons ) degree in Political Science from Sammilani Mahavidyalaya (under University of Calcutta) in 2014. He achieved 1st class First in B.A Honours from college (17th position University of Calcutta). He achieved 1st class 3rd position in M.A degree on Political Science in 2017 from Rabindra Bharati University. He completed M.Phil degree in 2019 from University of Calcutta. He also qualified SET examination in 2017 and NET in 2018.


Anirban sarkar , state aided college teacher, B.A , M.A.

Prof Anirban Sarkar joined the department of political science on 29.08.2017. He received his B.A degree from Barasat college in 2014. He completed his M.A  from West Bengal State University in Political science. His areas of interest are global politics and international relations.