Estd : 1947
Affiliation : West Bengal State University

Basirhat College 
 বসিরহাট কলেজ

  ►1st Merit list for the admission in M.A (Bengali) ►Notice regarding admission in MA (Bengali)  ► Notice regarding Library Card  ►Final Class Routine (B.Sc)Final Class Routine (B.Sc-Bio)  Final Class Routine (B.A)Class Routine ( B.Com)   ►Environment Management Committee Report 2021-22  

Individual web page



Coming Soon


Department of Chemistry

About the Department

Basirhat College started its journey with a single programme, B.A, in the year 1947. After two decades the faculty of Science was introduced and in the year 1969 the subject Chemistry in General course was available for the students.In the year 1986 Honours course in Chemistry was introduced by the University of Calcutta and the Higher Education Department, Govt. of West Bengal. Now the courses are run and regulated by West Bengal State University as the college is now affiliated to WBSU.
The intake capacity of the honours course is 61. In the general course 70-80 students get themselves admitted every year. The department of Chemistry has three rooms for its laboratory and one store room.
Apart from teaching and learning the faculties also engage themselves in fundamental research work. Currently one Major Research Project is ongoing in the department and one research scholar is pursuing his doctoral degree under the guidance of this department.


Dr. Suman Mandal

Dr. Suman Mandal, Assistant Professor, M.Sc.,Ph.D.

Dr. Mandal joined Basirhat College in the year 2017 as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry. He obtained B.Sc and M.Sc from the University of Kalyani. His doctoral research is on "Synthesis and stabilization of metal nanoparticles and its application in dye reduction catalysis" for which he was awarded Ph.D by the University of Kalyani in 2014. Read More..

Dr. Swastik Karmakar

Dr. Swastik Karmakar, Associate Professor, M.Sc.,Ph.D.

Dr. Karmakar received his M. Sc. from the University of Kalyani securing the position First-Class-First in 1999. He started his Ph. D. research on ‘Asymmetric Synthesis of some Natural Products’ with Professor Shital K. Chattopadhyay, University of Kalyani as a CSIR-JRF in 2000 and also qualified GATE-2000 (All India Rank-95). He joined Basirhat College as a ‘Lecturer in Chemistry’ in 2003 and awarded his Ph. D. in 2006. He then moved to Hanyang University, Seoul, South Korea with Brain Korea-21 post-doctoral fellowship (BK21) to carry out transition metal catalysed organic synthesis with Professor C. H. Oh. After coming back in 2008, he started independent research work in the College on transition metal catalysed synthesis of medicinally interesting heterocycles being awarded a major research project from the DST-SERB, Govt. of India, under the Fast Track Scheme for Young Scientists. He is a life member of ‘Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science’ (IACS). His current research interest includes transition metal catalysed asymmetric synthesis of bio-active heterocycles. Read More..

Dr. Monojit Sarkar

Dr. Monojit Sarkar, Assistant Professor, M.Sc., Ph.D

Dr. Sarkar joined the Department of Chemistry on 08.11.2006. He received his B.Sc. degree from University of Calcutta and M.Sc. degree from the University of Kalyani. He obtained his Ph.D degree from University of Kalyani. His research area was about various nano scale systems. Read More..

Dr. Bidyut Debnath

Dr. Bidyut Debnath, Assistant Professor, M.Sc.,Ph.D.

Dr. Bidyut Debnath joined the Department of Chemistry on 1st April, 2015. He has done M.Sc from North Bengal University with specialization in Physical Chemistry in the year 1999. He was awarded Ph.D degree from North Bengal University in the year 2010. He is interested in polymer and surface chemistry. Read More..

Mr. Prasanta Das

Mr. Prasanta Das, State Aided College Teacher, M.Sc.

Mrinal Haldar joined the Basirhat College in the year 2003. Read More..