Estd : 1947
Affiliation : West Bengal State University

Basirhat College 
 বসিরহাট কলেজ

Student Profile Quiz 2023-24  Tender notice  ►Notice regarding Add-On courseNotice regarding Internal Assessment for 1st semester(G) students ►Notice regarding Annual Sports 2023 Notice regarding Library Card     ►Environment Management Committee Report 2022-23   ► Notice regarding "Photography Club"


Governing Body


The highest statutory body is the Governing Body of the college which is constituted with 13 members of the following categories:

  • The Principal of the college who shall be the Secretary of the Governing Body (Ex-officio).
  • Three representatives elected from among themselves by the whole time teachers of the college.
  • One members elected from among themselves by the whole time non- teaching staff of the college.
  • Three members nominated by the State Government, at least one of whom shall be an educationist.
  • Two members nominated by the Executive Council of the University.
  • The G.S, Students Union. (Ex-officio)

The present constitution of Governing Body is as follows:


Member Status
Ms. Nusrat Jahan, MP President,G.B. (Govt. nominee)
Dr. Ashoke Kumar Mondal Principal & Secretary
Dr. Saptarshi Banerjee Govt. nominee
Mr. Pintu Das
Govt. nominee
Prof. Rina Bose
University nominee
Prof. Biplab Sarkar
University nominee
Prof. Dinabandhu Barat Teacher Member
Dr. Monojit Sarkar Teacher Member
Prof. Sangeeta Mondal

Teacher Member

Mr. Surajit Mitra Non teaching member